Pay now

Class of 2013

Dr. James Allen D.M.D. (’57). Graduate of the University of Louisville College of Arts & Sciences and the University of Louisville School of Dentistry. Captain, United States Navy Dental Corp (34 years). President, International College of Dentists Foundation. Past President of numerous national and international dental associations. Founder; Dentistry for Special Needs an Chief or Dental Services Kosair Hospital. Fellowships awarded from American and International college of Dentists and Academy of General Dentists. Past President of student body and senior class at Valley High School and University of Louisville (Undergraduate and School of Dentistry).

Conrad Bachmann (’51). Theater Arts Major University of Kentucky. Served 4 years in USAF Special Services. Professional Hollywood Actor for 52 years. Appeared in 25 feature films, 350 commercials, and 4 TV series. Performers Governor of Academy Television Arts & Sciences – “The Emmy’s” for 14 years. President of Advertising and Marketing Company. Founded Louisville Film Arts Institute – Produces Louisville’s International Festival of Film. Received Lily Philanthropist Award from Easter Seals. August 20, 2004 proclaimed Conrad Bachmann Day in Louisville. October 4, 2012, honored in “Kentucky Legends Hall of Fame” Galt House. May 3, 2012, Conrad Bachmann Auditorium dedicated at Valley High School.

Dr. Barbara Burch (’57). Graduate of Western Kentucky University and Indiana University. Provost Vice President for Academic Affairs Emeritus and Interim President of Western Kentucky University. Civic Engagement Scholar – Western Kentucky University. Dean of Education; California State University – Fresno. Assistant VP for Academic Affairs, Interim Dean, University of Memphis. Exec Board; National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education. National Board Member; Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education. Past President, American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education. Exec Board, the Renaissance Group. National Leadership Group, American Democracy Project. International Educational Consultant and Author. Valley High School teacher; directed senior plays, coached forensics and debate team. Valley High School honor student, soccer team, yearbook staff, and debate team.

Dr. Marshall Goldsmith (’67). Graduate, Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology, Indiana University Kelley School of Business (MBA), and UCLA Anderson School of Management (PhD). Recognized by Harvard Business Review as the #1 Leadership Thinker in the World. Author/Editor – Award winning 35 books translated into 28 languages. Professor – Loyola Marymount University’s College of Business and Dartmouth College’s Tuck School of Business. Founded Marshall Goldsmith Group – International company focusing on leadership and executive coaching. Awards: IU Kelley School of Business “2010 Distinguished Entrepreneur Award”; UCLA “2012 John E. Anderson Distinguished Alumni Award”; Institute for Management Studies “Lifetime Achievement Award”; plus, numerous other awards from professional organizations in business leadership. Volunteer Teacher; U.S. Army Generals, U.S. Navy Admirals; Girl Scout and International Red Cross Executives.

Leonard Kaufman (’47). President of Stock Yards Bank (1985-1989) and CEO (1989 and 1993) retiring after 45 years of service (1948-1993). Chairman of the Board of Deacons and Elders, Douglass Boulevard Christian Church. Chairman of the WLKY Bell Awards Committee for Outstanding Volunteer 1991. Chairman, Board of Directors Louisville Convention and Visitors Board 1985-1991; Member Derby Festival Committee. Member, Board of American Institute of Banking, Louisville Chapter President 1965-66. Valley Station Park Board member 1953-1960. Valley Optimist Club member. Viking athlete was star forward on Valley High School basketball team going to the Sweet Sixteen 1944-1947.

L. Maxwell Sanders (1899–1966). Stock Yards Bank; President & Chairman 1932-1966. Pastor, Valley Christian Church 1922-1963. Sanders Elementary School dedicated in 1962 in honor of his civic duties. Chairman, Valley Station Committee establishing Valley High School, opened in 1936. Instrumental in Jefferson County Playground and Recreation Board, formed in 1944, Chairman for 13 years. Awards: Jefferson County Youth Association first annual “Mr. Recreation of KY”, National Recreation Board citation for “Outstanding Contribution to Recreation in America”. Community Service: Red Crass, WWII Bonds, YMCA State Board, Valley Masonic Lodge, and Valley Optimist Club

Tom Seals (’62) (1944-2010). Graduate, Georgetown College. Voted twice – NAIA All-American First Team Football 1965, 1966. First Georgetown College football player to be voted NAIA All-American. Most Valuable Player, 1966 Exchange Bowl. Kicked 8 field goals at Georgetown in 1965 season to tie the National NAIA record. Member, Georgetown College Athletic Hall of Fame. Signed with Cincinnati Bengals of the NFL. Taught and coached at Valley High School. Viking athlete lettered in football, basketball, and track at Valley High School. Voted “Best All-Around Male” his senior year at Valley High School.

Dr. Richard VanHoose (1910–1998). Graduate of Georgetown College, University of Kentucky; Honorary Doctorate Georgetown College. Teacher and Coach, Bald Knob and Franklin County schools ‘33-’39. Principal, Second St. School, Frankfort, KY ‘39-’43. Superintendent, Anchorage Independent Schools ‘43-’46. Principal, Valley High School ’46-’48. Asst. Supt, Jefferson County Public Schools ‘48-’50. Superintendent, Jefferson County Public Schools ‘50-’75. Georgetown College Board of Trustees ‘54-’61. Board Member of numerous civic, community, and educational organizations. President, Kentucky Education Association. Awards: “58 Founder’s Day (UK), ‘70 Dupree Award; Creative Practices in School Administration. During the tenure of “Dr. Van”: JCPS population grew from 16,000 to 90,000; over 100 school building were built; adult/vocational programs were expanded; educational television was introduced as a teaching aid; ‘54 co-founded Channel 15/WKPC; ‘69 merger of WKPC and Kentucky Educational Television (KET). Central administration office for JCPS named in his honor 1975